The Marriage of Figaro: Synopsis, Character Map


The Marriage of Figaro: Character Map

The Marriage of Figaro: Character Map
The Marriage of Figaro: Character Map

The Marriage of Figaro: Roles

Count Almavivabaritone
Countess Rosina Almavivathe Count’s wifesoprano
Susannathe Countess’s maidsoprano
Figarothe Count’s valetbass
Cherubinothe Count’s pagesoprano
MarcellinaBartolo’s housekeepersoprano
Basiliomusic teachertenor
BarbarinaAntonio’s daughtersoprano
Antoniothe Count’s gardenerbass
Don Curziojudgetenor
  • Native title: Le nozze di Figaro
  • Composers: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Librettist: Lorenzo Da Ponte
  • Based on: La folle journée, ou le Mariage de Figaro by Pierre Beaumarchais
  • Language: Italian
  • Premiere: May 1, 1786, Burgtheater, Vienna
  • Running time: 2 hours 55 minutes (Act 1: 50 minutes, Act 2: 45 minutes, Act 3: 40 minutes, Act 4: 40 minutes)

The Marriage of Figaro: Short Synopsis

Figaro and Susanna are about to be married. The Count gives them a room. Figaro is pleased, but Susanna tells Figaro that the Count wants to make a move on her. Upon hearing this, Figaro hatches a plan to outwit the Count and get him to agree to their marriage. However, there is a hitch in the plot, and the Countess finds herself in a tight spot. The Countess and Susanna execute a new plan to humiliate the Count. The plan succeeds. The Count apologizes to the Countess and is granted forgiveness by her.